Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

Shane Hegarty, Ben Mantle

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)

For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the second hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope.

For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the second hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope.

'Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.' Eoin Colfer

Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?

A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

Have you read the first BOOT story, which was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award?

Read More Read Less

Praise for BOOT: The Rusty Rescue: Book 2

  • Praise for Darkmouth: "Shane Hegarty explodes into the fantasy universe with Darkmouth. Hilarious and exciting. Terrifying and heart-stopping. Everything a great fantasy series should be. The next big thing is here." - Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl

  • Packed with wonderful characters and imaginative gadgets, and the fast-paced action is underpinned with a dry wit. - Daily Mail

  • Hegarty understands the importance of humour for young readers. One of the great pleasures of being scared is the release of laughter that comes afterwards, and Darkmouth is peppered with sly, gentle wit. - The Irish Times

Read More Read Less

Shane Hegarty

Shane Hegarty was a journalist and editor of the Irish Times, and before that worked in radio and the music business. Now a full time writer, he is the author of the bestselling middle-grade series, Darkmouth - which is currently being developed into a big screen animation by Oscar-nominated director Douglas Sweetland and Moana Head of Story, Dave Pimentel. Darkmouth was nominated for the Waterstones Prize. Boot is his first series for younger readers. He lives near Dublin with his wife and a brutally honest young readers focus group - otherwise known as his four children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay