Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Shadowmarch: Shadowmarch Book 1

Tad Williams

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Shadowmarch, Fiction, Fantasy

An epic tale of magic and mystery, duty and betrayal, Tad Williams' Shadowmarch series is a classic of modern fantasy.

At the uppermost edge of the northern kingdoms, towers shrouded in mist, lies Southmarch Castle. For hundreds of years it has remained hidden from the affairs of empire. Now its isolation can protect it no more. Southmarch is under siege; from both its neighbours, without, and the more insidious enemies who would destroy it from within.

Even further to the north, within the ancient walls of Qul-na-Qar, in a land of silence and gloom, the Twilight People gather to hear Ynnir, the blind king, pronounce the dark fate of human kind. In the south, the Autarch, the god-king who has already conquered an entire continent, now looks to extend his domain once more.

It is upon Southmarch that the armies advance, and to its people that darkness will speed.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Shadowmarch: Shadowmarch Book 1

  • A page-turner full of character, atmosphere and action - Starburst

  • Skilfully merges world-building description with intriguing plots ... a sublime piece of storytelling - SFX

  • A thrill ride...will enchant established fans and win new converts - Publishers Weekly

  • A page-turner - Booklist

Read More Read Less

Tad Williams

Tad Williams is a best-selling and well-loved fantasy author. Deborah Beale is a former book publisher for adults and children and founding member of the Orion Publishing Group. This is the first book they have written together. They live with their children in the San Francisco Bay area in California. You can learn more about Deborah and Tad at

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay