Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The House at Silvermoor

Tracy Rees

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Romance

The fifth novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies

1899
Josie has never questioned her life in a mining village on the South Yorkshire coalfield. But everything changes when she meets Tommy from the neighbouring village. Tommy has been destined for a life underground since the moment he was born. But he has far bigger dreams.
Josie and Tommy become fast friends, united by their desire for something better and by their fascination with the local gentry who have their keeping. Wealthy and glamorous, the Sedgewicks of Silvermoor inhabit a world that is utterly forbidden to Tommy and Josie. Yet as the new century dawns, and the pair become entangled with the grand family, they discover a long hidden secret and learn that nothing is impossible.

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The House at Silvermoor

  • Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark - Lucinda Riley

  • The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter

  • An enjoyable and intriguing read - Trisha Ashley

  • This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings - Psychologies

  • The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down - Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's

  • Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic - Rosanna Ley

  • Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place - Leah Fleming

  • A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page - Richard and Judy on Amy Snow

Read More Read Less

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay