Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

Age of Iron

Angus Watson

5 Reviews

Rated 0

The Iron Age Trilogy, Fiction, Adventure, Historical adventure, Fantasy

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones. Shortlisted for the David Gemmell Awards.

LEGENDS AREN'T BORN. THEY'RE FORGED.

Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar's army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people.

First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar's most fearsome warriors, who's vowed revenge on the king for her sister's execution.

Now Dug's on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join - and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly-trained warrior with a lust for revenge that's going to get them all killed . . .

It's a glorious day to die.

'Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor, and laced with subtle magic. The blend of historical accuracy and authorial liberties suggests an old-school sword-and-sorcery epic, though with some modern sensibilities thrown in for good measure!'
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

'Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on.'
SF CROWSNEST

'Watson has created a brilliant and confident debut . . . If you like your fantasy packed with hammer-wielding heroes, bloodthirsty druids, strong female leads, action, intrigue, betrayal, and a brilliantly conceived world then AGE OF IRON is for you.'
THE BOOK BEARD

'Thoroughly entertaining from the get go . . . I really got a kick out of the AGE OF IRON'
THE ELOQUENT PAGE

Read More Read Less

Praise for Age of Iron

  • Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining

  • Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on! - SF CROWSNEST

  • Watson has created a brilliant and confident debut . . . If you like your fantasy packed with bloodthirsty Druids, hammer-wielding heroes, strong female leads, action, intrigue, betrayal, and a brilliantly conceived world then Age of Iron is for you. - THE BOOK BEARD

  • Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor, and laced with subtle magic. The blend of historical accuracy and authorial liberties suggests an old-school sword-and-sorcery epic, though with some modern sensibilities thrown in for good measure! - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

  • Thoroughly entertaining from the get go . . . I really got a kick out of the AGE OF IRON - THE ELOQUENT PAGE

Read More Read Less

Angus Watson

Angus Watson is the David Gemmell Award-nominated author of Age of Iron. As well as writing epic fantasy, he's written hundreds of features for newspapers including The Times, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot in America. He lives in London, but you can find him on Twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com.