Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

A Mansion for Murder: Book 13 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Frances Brody

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The thirteenth mystery in the delightful Kate Shackleton murder mystery series set in 1930s Yorkshire.

The brand new novel featuring Private Investigator Kate Shackleton!

1930, Yorkshire. Intrigued by a mysterious letter from a stranger offering important information, Private Investigator Kate Shackleton arrives in the mill village of Saltaire. At nearby Milner Field mansion, overshadowed by its reputation for misfortune and untimely deaths, she expects to meet the letter writer, Ronnie Creswell.

Kate soon hears the shocking news that Ronnie has been killed. At first his death appears to be a tragic accident at the mill, but soon it becomes clear that Ronnie's demise was no mishap. Kate is enlisted to help investigate the murder.

Kate moves into the tower rooms at Milner Field, as she tries to uncover resentments, industrial espionage, and old secrets in the close-knit village. Although she doesn't believe in curses, she wonders what sinister truth lies behind this latest in the litany of deaths connected to the infamous Milner Field.

Then just when things couldn't get any worse, a young girl in the village goes missing, and Kate must use all her strength and skill to unravel the mystery around the mansion once and for all . . .

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Mansion for Murder: Book 13 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

  • Praise for Frances Brody:

  • Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

  • Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

  • I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character - Woman's Way

  • Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of twelve Kate Shackleton mysteries and three historical novels. Frances began her writing career in radio and has also written for theatre and television. Her novel Sisters on Bread Street won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was shortlisted for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University.

Visit Frances Brody online at www.francesbrody.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay