Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

The Body on the Train: Book 11 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Frances Brody

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Kate Shackleton Mysterie, Crime & mystery

The eleventh delightful and atmospheric instalment in the Kate Shackleton murder mystery series set in 1920s Yorkshire.

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

1929, London.

In the darkness before dawn, a London railway porter discovers a man's body as he unloads a special goods train from Yorkshire, all means of identification stripped away. Hitting a dead end, Scotland Yard call on indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton, hoping her local Yorkshire knowledge and undoubted skills at winkling out information will produce the results they need.

1929, Yorkshire.

Fears of unrest in the Yorkshire coalfields mean that Kate must conduct her investigation with the utmost secrecy. But when she discovers that another murder occurred around the same time as the mysterious body on the train, she is convinced there must be a connection. Using her sharp instincts and persuasive charm, she begins to uncover a web of intrigue that edges her closer to the truth. But with attempts being made on her life, Kate needs all the strength and resourcefulness she can muster, before she becomes the next victim . . .

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Body on the Train: Book 11 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

  • Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

  • The series is right up there with Miss Marple - Sunday Sport

  • Delightful - People's Friend

  • Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters - RT Book Reviews

  • Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive - Ann Cleeves, award-winning author of the Vera Stanhope mysteries

  • Frances Brody has a remarkable talent for evoking time and place. With a realistic setting, her characters spring to life. This is crime writing of a high order - Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of three mysteries featuring Kate Shackleton as well as many stories and plays for BBC Radio, scripts for television and four sagas, one of which won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse, and Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay