Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Frances Brody

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The twelfth murder mystery in the enthralling Kate Shackleton series set in 1930s Yorkshire. When a dead body is discovered during a garden party at a Yorkshire brewery, indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton has a complex murder on her hands to solve . . .

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

A call for help

It's the spring of 1930 and Private Investigator Kate Shackleton responds to a call for help from the owner of Barleycorn Brewery in the North Riding of Yorkshire. The brewery's books don't add up, but when the one employee who may know what's really going on meets with a fatal accident, Kate's investigation intensifies.

A second body

On the day of the brewery garden party, amidst celebrations for the newly crowned Yorkshire Brewery Queen, Kate opens the wrong door and finds herself staring at another body - and in danger of asphyxiation.

A secret to die for

It's clear there are secrets somebody would kill to keep buried. And with the Brewey Queen's growing reputation bringing Barlycorn further into the spotlight, Kate's wit, skill and passion for truth are tested to the limits.

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

Read More Read Less

Praise for Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

  • Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

  • The series is right up there with Miss Marple - Sunday Sport

  • Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

  • Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of ten mysteries featuring Kate Shackleton as well as many stories and plays for BBC Radio, scripts for television and three sagas, one of which won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was short-listed for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University. She has taught in colleges, and on writing courses for the Arvon Foundation.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay