Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus

A Murder Inside: The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series

Frances Brody

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Classic crime

The first mystery in a new classic crime series from Frances Brody, the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries. Set in HMP Brackerley, a women's prison in 1960s Yorkshire, this novel introduces readers to their new favourite heroine: prison governor Nell Lewis.

'Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own' The Times

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

The first historical mystery in a new classic crime series from bestselling author Frances Brody. This is the perfect locked room page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.
___________

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she's promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she's tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man's body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?
___________

What readers are saying about Frances Brody:

'Witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

'A splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'An engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator' Irish Times

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail
'The series is right up there with Miss Marple' Sunday Sport

'Delightful' People's Friend 'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'In Yorkshire we are proud to have such a first-rate crime novelist in our county' Yorkshire Gazette & Herald

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Murder Inside: The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series

  • Praise for Frances Brody:

  • Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

  • Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

  • Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines - Literary Review

  • Delightful - People's Friend

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of twelve Kate Shackleton mysteries and three historical novels. Frances began her writing career in radio and has also written for theatre and television. Her novel Sisters on Bread Street won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was shortlisted for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University.

Visit Frances Brody online at www.francesbrody.com

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay