Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus

A Murder Inside: The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series

Frances Brody

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Classic crime

The first mystery in a new classic crime series from Frances Brody, the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries. Set in HMP Brackerley, a women's prison in 1960s Yorkshire, this novel introduces readers to their new favourite heroine: prison governor Nell Lewis.

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she's promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she's tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man's body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?

From the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries comes a new classic crime series set in 1960s Yorkshire and starring prison governor Nell Lewis. This is the perfect page-turner for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Murder Inside: The first mystery in a brand new classic crime series

  • Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

  • Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines - Literary Review

  • Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

  • Praise for Frances Brody:

  • Delightful - People's Friend

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of twelve Kate Shackleton mysteries and three historical novels. Frances began her writing career in radio and has also written for theatre and television. Her novel Sisters on Bread Street won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was shortlisted for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University.

Visit Frances Brody online at www.francesbrody.com

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay