Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Resources

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Science fiction

The BSFA and Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author returns with the second part of his stunning moon colonisation epic, perfect for fans of THE MARTIAN and RED MARS.

Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed.

The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent's violent deaths, is now a ward - virtually a hostage - of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon.

Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and - more to the point - that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey - to Earth.

In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.

Read More Read Less

Resources

Praise for Luna: Wolf Moon

  • Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi cliches. Brilliantly done. - Sci-Fi Now

  • I will read anything that man writes-he is the most underappreciated genius working in the field today - Cory Doctorow

  • Provocative, gripping and prancingly adult, it's a stunning example of how good science-fiction can be, and proof that McDonald is one of the best writers currently working in the genre - SFX

  • Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi cliches. Brilliantly done. - Sci-Fi Now

  • There's a lot of intrigue, some violence, rather more sex - healthily polymorphous and energetic, this - and all the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space: a sort of Moon-Dome Dallas. - The Guardian

Read More Read Less

Ian McDonald

Ian McDonald was born in Manchester in 1960. His family moved to Northern Ireland in 1965. He now lives in Belfast and works in TV production. The author of many previous novels, including the groundbreaking Chaga books set in Africa, Ian McDonald has long been at the cutting edge of SF. RIVER OF GODS won the BSFA award in 2005, BRASYL won in it in 2007 and THE DERVISH HOUSE in 2010.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay