Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

How to Fly with Broken Wings

Jane Elson

5 Reviews

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, Interest age: from c 9 years, Fiction, Children's Fiction, Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abu, Personal & social issues: disability & special nee

A heart-warming tale about a boy who just wants to make friends, and the girl who shows him how.

'If Finn Maison shouts jump you jump or you are dead.'

Twelve-year-old Willem has Aspergers Syndrome and two main aims in life: to fly and to make at least two friends of his own age. But all the other boys from the Beckham Estate do is make him jump off things. First his desk - and now the wall. As his toes teeter on the edge, Sasha Bradley gives him a tiny little wink. Might she become his friend?

Bullied by Finn and his gang the Beckham Estate Boyz, Willem has no choice but to jump. As he flies through the air he flaps his arms, wishing he could fly and escape into the clouds. Instead he comes crashing down and breaks his ankle.

Sasha, angry with herself for not stopping Finn and his Boyz, is determined to put things right. And soon, while the gangs riot on their estate, Willem and Sasha form an unlikely friendship. Because they share a secret. Sasha longs to fly too.

And when Magic Man Archie arrives with stories of war-flying spitfires, he will change the lives of the kids on the Beckham Estate for ever. And perhaps find a way for Willem and Sasha to fly ...

Touching on themes such as friendship and bullying, this is a charming tale about overcoming obstacles and finding friendship in unlikely places.

'heart-rending, heartbreaking and heartening' The Best New Children's Books Guardian Supplement

Read More Read Less

Praise for How to Fly with Broken Wings

  • Praise for A Room Full of Chocolate:

  • 'What a touching, beautifully imagined debut about a young girl coping with her mother's cancer and her grandfather's stubbornness. It's atmosphere reminds me of the central relationship in Goodnight Mr Tom. - Amanda Craig

  • A really moving debut, tackling big issues such as parental illness and bullying. Another one for fans of Sarah Lean and Cathy Cassidy. - The Bookseller

  • Honestly, honestly, honestly, this story is just lovely. It's simply told and easy to read but it's also beautifully written. - The Bookbag

  • ... perfectly captures the innocence, sincerity and warmth of pre-adolescence, that unbreakable bond between friends, and the unique, unspoilt and heartfelt love of a daughter for her mother. At times, desperately moving, and others riotously fun, this is a special book that is destined to charm readers old and young. - We Love This Book

Read More Read Less

Jane Elson

After performing as an actress and comedy improviser, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. Her have won many awards and she has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
Jane is loud and proud about her dyslexia and when not writing likes to mentor Neurodiverse young people and promote the gift of alternative thinking. She is honoured the platform Women Beyond The Box elected her as one of the top 50 Neurodivergent Women influences.
Jane is an advocate for charities close to her heart such as Nacoa and All Dogs Matter - whose dog shows she has lots of fun judging!

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay