Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books

Storm Horse

Jane Elson

Write Review

Rated 0

Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)

When a mystery horse gallops on to a London estate, it will change four kids' lives for ever ... a heart-warming animal tale from an author celebrated for her honest, heartfelt and inclusive stories. Perfect for fans of Carlie Sorosiak and Michael Morpurgo.

When a mystery horse gallops on to a London housing estate in the middle of a storm, it will change four kids' lives for ever ... A heart-warming tale that celebrates neurodiversity and the power of alternative thinking from an author known for her honest, heartfelt and inclusive stories. Perfect for fans of Carlie Sorosiak and Michael Morpurgo.

For Daniel Margate, life is muddled because everything moves: letters, numbers, even classrooms sometimes. Daniel is dyslexic and most of the time, school just doesn't make sense. He's in the bottom reading group at school with other kids who are trying to make sense of it all. There's Akin who can't sit still for more than two minutes and is almost always getting into trouble, sports star Ste is recovering from a car accident that left him learning how to walk again and Molly-May's school uniform never fits and is a regular at the local foodbank.

But when a mystery horse gallops into their lives one stormy evening, it changes everything. Desperate to keep him safe they form the Secret Horse Society and vow to protect this amazing creature. Inspired by stories of the great racehorse Seabiscuit, they name him Jammie Dodger and find they when they work together, nothing seems impossible. Even the Big Read Off at school. They just need to keep their new horse friend a secret.

How hard can it be to hide a horse, anyway?

Read More Read Less

Jane Elson

After performing as an actress and comedy improviser, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. Her books have won many awards including Peters Book of the Year two years running. Her debut novel A Room Full of Chocolate was longlisted for the Branford Boase Award and she has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

Jane is loud and proud about her dyslexia and when not writing likes to mentor Neurodiverse young people and promote the gift of alternative thinking. She was honoured to be named as one of the top 50 Neurodivergent Women by the platform Women Beyond the Box.


Jane is an advocate for charities close to her heart such as Nacoa and All Dogs Matter - whose dog shows she has lots of fun judging!

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay