Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

Storm Horse

Jane Elson

Write Review

Rated 0

Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)

When a mystery horse gallops on to a London estate, it will change four kids' lives for ever ... a heart-warming animal tale from an author celebrated for her honest, heartfelt and inclusive stories. Perfect for fans of Carlie Sorosiak and Michael Morpurgo.

When a mystery horse gallops on to a London housing estate in the middle of a storm, it will change four kids' lives for ever ... A heart-warming tale from an author celebrated for her honest, heartfelt and inclusive stories. Perfect for fans of Carlie Sorosiak and Michael Morpurgo.

Meet Daniel, Akin, Ste and Molly. They are the Secret Horse Society; previously known as the Reluctant Reading Group at Heath Academy.

Daniel is a daydreamer who struggles with his dyslexia, Akin can't sit still for more than two minutes and is almost always getting into trouble, sports star Ste is recovering from a car accident that left him learning how to walk again, and Molly-May's school uniform never fits and her tummy is rarely full. School is tough enough, but being labelled 'reluctant' just feels like they've been written off.

Then a runaway horse gallops into their lives and changes everything. Inspired by stories of the great racehorse Seabiscuit - they name their new horse friend Jammie Dodger and learn that if they work together, they can do anything: like compete in the Big Read Off at school. They just need to keep Jammie Dodger, a secret.

How hard can it be to hide a horse, anyway?

Read More Read Less

Jane Elson

After performing as an actress and comedy improviser, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. Her books have won many awards including Peters Book of the Year two years running. Her debut novel A Room Full of Chocolate was longlisted for the Branford Boase Award and she has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

Jane is loud and proud about her dyslexia and when not writing likes to mentor Neurodiverse young people and promote the gift of alternative thinking. She was honoured to be named as one of the top 50 Neurodivergent Women by the platform Women Beyond the Box.


Jane is an advocate for charities close to her heart such as Nacoa and All Dogs Matter - whose dog shows she has lots of fun judging!

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay