Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 5: (Betrayal, Caribbee, Pasha)

Julian Stockwin

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical adventure, Napoleonic War fiction

Unputdownable naval action, the Thomas Kydd series is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail.

A bundle of three Thomas Kydd novels - the story of one man's journey from pressed man to Admiral during the Great Age of Fighting Sail. Betrayal: Thomas Kydd 13

Cape Colony is proving a tiresome assignment for Captain Kydd's daring commander-in-chief Commodore Popham. Rumours that South America's Spanish colonies are in a ferment of popular unrest and of a treasure hoard of silver spur him to assemble a makeshift invasion fleet and launch a bold attack on the capital of the Viceroyalty of the River Plate, Buenos Aires.

Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14

More than a decade ago, Thomas Kydd and Nicholas Renzi were in the Caribbean as sailors before the mast in the old Trajan. Now Kydd, a storied hero of Trafalgar, holds the glory of being post-captain of the 32-gun frigate, L'Aurore. After unremitting war a Caribbean posting seems a welcome respite. But Kydd and Renzi soon find themselves facing a familiar threat as the French imperil Britain's vital sugar trade.

Pasha: Thomas Kydd 15 An Admiralty summons to England cuts short Thomas Kydd's service in the turquoise waters of the Caribbean. Following Nelson's death two years earlier, England is in desperate need of heroes and Kydd's Caribbean exploits are the talk of London. Feted by the king and a grateful country, Kydd is soon on detachment in a new and dangerous sphere of interest: the Dardanelles, long coveted by the French. And when they successfully whip up such strong anti-English sentiment that the British ambassador to Constantinople has to flee to L'Aurore, a deadly stand-off ensues.

'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Kydd Collection 5: (Betrayal, Caribbee, Pasha)

  • Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. - Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter

  • Stockwin's writing is enriched by his own experiences in the Royal Navy, which gives scenes of fighting and tempest an authenticity to delight anyone who shares his passion for the sea. - Daily Telegraph

  • Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line - Daily Express

  • More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series - Royal Navy Sailing Association journal on the KYDD series

  • This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail. - Nautical Magazine on VICTORY

Read More Read Less

Julian Stockwin

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. In Vietnam he saw active service in a carrier task force.

After leaving the Navy (rated Petty Officer), Julian practised as an educational psychologist. He lived for some time in Hong Kong, where he was commissioned into the Royal Naval Reserve. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay