Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Tyger: Thomas Kydd 16

Julian Stockwin

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical adventure, Historical fiction

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwall, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Tyger is the sixteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's part in Britain's doomed occupation of Buenos Aires has put him on the wrong side of some powerful men at the Admiralty. He is given a poisoned commission that some hope will destroy his career: a recently mutinied ship.

But enemies aboard and on the high seas are just the start of the problem. Soon he will have to take his untested and untrustworthy crew into the Baltic where they will get entangled with Napoleon's invasion of Prussia. With the stakes desperate, the task seemingly impossible and the French implacable, Kydd could return home once more a hero - or find himself facing a court martial.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Tyger: Thomas Kydd 16

  • Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. - Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter

  • Stockwin's writing is enriched by his own experiences in the Royal Navy, whcih gives scenes of fighting and tempest an authenticity to delight anyone who shares his passion for the sea. - Daily Telegraph

  • Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line - Daily Express

  • 'More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series' - Royal Navy Sailing Association journal on the KYDD series

  • 'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail.' - Nautical Magazine on VICTORY

Read More Read Less

Julian Stockwin

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. In Vietnam he saw active service in a carrier task force.

After leaving the Navy (rated Petty Officer), Julian practised as an educational psychologist. He lived for some time in Hong Kong, where he was commissioned into the Royal Naval Reserve. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay