Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

Liverpool Songbird: A rare gift provides an escape

Lyn Andrews

4 Reviews

Rated 0

c 1918 to c 1939 (Inter-war period), Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Sagas

The rags-to-riches tale of a young woman escaping her bitter past through the gift of her voice, by bestselling author Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews' touching and nostalgic saga LIVERPOOL SONGBIRD is a must-read for fans of Kate Thompson and Nadine Dorries.

Is one young woman's beautiful singing voice enough to bring the success that will free her from poverty?

1925. Alice O'Connor's poor family lives in the heart of Liverpool's toughest slum. Her bullying father drinks away what little he earns, whilst Nelly, her careworn mother, works when she can and begs when she can't. Since she was five young Alice has also begged in the streets around the docks but she has managed to hold on to the hope of something better, a stubborn optimism that keeps her head held high even in her lowest moments.

For Alice knows she has a gift that allows her to rise above the fate that made her life so bitterly hard. Alice O'Connor can sing like an angel . . . It's a gift that will take her far though it is to Liverpool she will always return. But is it enough to bring her the success she needs - and the love and happiness she so desperately craves?

Praise for Lyn Andrews' unforgettable novels:

'A compelling read' Woman's Own

'Gutsy . . . A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community . . . will keep the pages turning' Daily Express

'A page-turning and beautifully written novel' Irish World

Read More Read Less

Praise for Liverpool Songbird: A rare gift provides an escape

  • Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller - Woman's Weekly

  • A vivid portrayal of life - Best

  • A compelling read - Woman's Own

  • The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool - Northern Echo

Read More Read Less

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
Facebook: @LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @lynandrewsbooks

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay