Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Accent

The Trowie Mound Murders: The Shetland Sailing Mysteries

Marsali Taylor

Write Review

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

Shetland becomes a centre for an art smuggling operation with deadly consequences, in the second novel in the popular Shetland Sailing Mysteries by Shetland Noir author Marsali Taylor.

The second book in Marsali Taylor's thrilling Shetland Sailing Mysteries series. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Val McDermid, Faith Martin, J.R. Ellis, LJ Ross and Ann Cleeves!

'This series is a must-read for anyone who loves the sea, or islands, or joyous, intricate story-telling.' ANN CLEEVES

Ghosts. Folklore. A nail-biting finale.


When a visiting yachting couple go missing from the Shetland oil capital of Brae, sailing skipper Cass Lynch overcomes her mistrust of the land world to ask for help from her old adversary DI Gavin Macrae. He discovers a link to international art theft, and warns Cass to steer clear - but when one of her sailing pupils goes missing, she goes alone to discover the secrets of the Neolithic tomb known locally as a 'trowie mound' ... Ghosts, folklore and a nail-biting finale at the local show come together to make an atmospheric, fast-moving thriller.
_____________________________

PRAISE FOR THE CHILLINGLY ADDICTIVE, NAIL-BITING SERIES:


'A beautifully written murder mystery... I will certainly look forward to reading more by this gifted author' 5* Reader review

'Well plotted interesting characters and superb descriptions of Shetland, feels as though you can see it all in front of you' 5* Reader review

'Great book, I couldn't stop reading it' 5* Reader review

'ANOTHER BRILLIANT TITLE FROM THIS AUTHOR' 5* Reader review

Read More Read Less

Marsali Taylor

Marsali grew up near Edinburgh, Scotland. Her summer family holidays were spent in a remote cottage in the West Highlands, the region where her detective Gavin Macrae lives. Like her sailing heroine, Cass, she has always been used to boats, and used her 'gap year' earnings to buy her first sailing dinghy, Lady Blue. She studied English at Dundee University, did a year of teacher training and took up her first post, teaching English and French to secondary children in Aith, Shetland. Gradually her role expanded to doing drama too, and both primary and secondary pupils have won prizes performing her plays at the local Drama Festival. Some of these plays were in Shetlandic, the local dialect.

Marsali teaches dinghy sailing at her local club, and is a keen single-handed sailor in her Offshore 8 m yacht, Karima S - the double of Cass's Khalida.


A qualified STGA green badge tourist guide for Shetland, she now spends a good deal of her summer sharing her home with visitors from overseas. She is particularly interested in women's history, and has published Women's Suffrage in Shetland, two years' worth of original research. She followed this with The Story of Busta House, the romantic tale of the house which is the setting for part of Death on a Longship.


Marsali also writes for the monthly magazine Shetland Life - a mixture of travel writing, interviews, investigative journalism and historical research.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay