Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Accent

Ghosts of the Vikings: The Shetland Sailing Mysteries

Marsali Taylor

Write Review

Rated 0

Sailing

The fifth book in Marsali Taylor's thrilling Shetland Sailing Mysteries series. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Val McDermid, Faith Martin, J.R. Ellis, LJ Ross and Ann Cleeves!

'This series is a must-read for anyone who loves the sea, or islands, or joyous, intricate story-telling.' ANN CLEEVES

Treasure hunters and opera stars collide in the north of Shetland in this latest of the Cass Lynch mysteries!


Cass has embarked on a tentative relationship with DI Gavin Macrae and they are both invited to the gala opening of her mother's new opera.

The performance goes well but it is soon clear that things are not as smooth backstage.

As the wind rises, and the power goes off, even Cass's much-loved yacht Khalida can't provide a refuge from a ruthless killer...
_____________________________

PRAISE FOR THE CHILLINGLY ADDICTIVE, NAIL-BITING SERIES:


'A brilliant series beautifully written something for every taste in these stories!' 5* Reader review

'The story is fast-paced with some good build up of tension and some quirky humour to enliven the proceedings too... I cannot wait to buy number 6' 5* Reader review

'Once again Marsali Taylor combines her love of sailing and of Shetland to create a murder mystery that kept me guessing' 5* Reader review

'...the author's love of the subject drew me in and I found the whole thing fascinating. And it was an excellent mystery too' 5* Reader review

Read More Read Less

Marsali Taylor

Marsali grew up near Edinburgh, Scotland. Her summer family holidays were spent in a remote cottage in the West Highlands, the region where her detective Gavin Macrae lives. Like her sailing heroine, Cass, she has always been used to boats, and used her 'gap year' earnings to buy her first sailing dinghy, Lady Blue. She studied English at Dundee University, did a year of teacher training and took up her first post, teaching English and French to secondary children in Aith, Shetland. Gradually her role expanded to doing drama too, and both primary and secondary pupils have won prizes performing her plays at the local Drama Festival. Some of these plays were in Shetlandic, the local dialect.

Marsali teaches dinghy sailing at her local club, and is a keen single-handed sailor in her Offshore 8 m yacht, Karima S - the double of Cass's Khalida.


A qualified STGA green badge tourist guide for Shetland, she now spends a good deal of her summer sharing her home with visitors from overseas. She is particularly interested in women's history, and has published Women's Suffrage in Shetland, two years' worth of original research. She followed this with The Story of Busta House, the romantic tale of the house which is the setting for part of Death on a Longship.


Marsali also writes for the monthly magazine Shetland Life - a mixture of travel writing, interviews, investigative journalism and historical research.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay