Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Accent

A Handful of Ash: The Shetland Sailing Mysteries

Marsali Taylor

Write Review

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

An ancient witch cult is revived in modern Shetland, in the third novel in the popular Shetland Sailing Mysteries by Marsali Taylor.

The third book in Marsali Taylor's thrilling Shetland Sailing Mysteries series. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Val McDermid, Faith Martin, J.R. Ellis, LJ Ross and Ann Cleeves!

'This series is a must-read for anyone who loves the sea, or islands, or joyous, intricate story-telling.' ANN CLEEVES

Liveaboard skipper and amateur sleuth Cass Lynch is busy at marine college in Scalloway, until one night she finds an acquaintance dead in a doorway with her hand smeared with peat ash.

Rumours spread of a strange ritual linked to the witches once burned in Shetland's ancient capital, and of a horned figure abroad in the night. At first Cass believes these to be mere superstition, until there's a second murder, and she begins to wonder if the devil really does walk in Scalloway ...
_____________________________

PRAISE FOR THE CHILLINGLY ADDICTIVE, NAIL-BITING SERIES:


'Absolutely brilliant storyline... a great mystery novel, looking forward to reading more' 5* Reader review

'Excellent book... gripping tale just like her others. Looking forward to more of her wonderful tales of Shetland' 5* Reader review

'This has an excellent storyline and is very entertaining' 5* Reader review

'A very cleverly constructed and entertaining read' 5* Reader review

Read More Read Less

Marsali Taylor

Marsali grew up near Edinburgh, Scotland. Her summer family holidays were spent in a remote cottage in the West Highlands, the region where her detective Gavin Macrae lives. Like her sailing heroine, Cass, she has always been used to boats, and used her 'gap year' earnings to buy her first sailing dinghy, Lady Blue. She studied English at Dundee University, did a year of teacher training and took up her first post, teaching English and French to secondary children in Aith, Shetland. Gradually her role expanded to doing drama too, and both primary and secondary pupils have won prizes performing her plays at the local Drama Festival. Some of these plays were in Shetlandic, the local dialect.

Marsali teaches dinghy sailing at her local club, and is a keen single-handed sailor in her Offshore 8 m yacht, Karima S - the double of Cass's Khalida.


A qualified STGA green badge tourist guide for Shetland, she now spends a good deal of her summer sharing her home with visitors from overseas. She is particularly interested in women's history, and has published Women's Suffrage in Shetland, two years' worth of original research. She followed this with The Story of Busta House, the romantic tale of the house which is the setting for part of Death on a Longship.


Marsali also writes for the monthly magazine Shetland Life - a mixture of travel writing, interviews, investigative journalism and historical research.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay