Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

The Apple of her Eye: The tragedy of war unites two London families

Pamela Evans

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas

Conveying the heartbreak and hardship of the Second World War and the indomitable spirit of the Londoners who survived it, this dramatic saga will appeal to fans of Kitty Neale and Carol Rivers.

Pam Evans' family saga brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds a passion for growing her own vegetables.

It is 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then tragedy strikes when the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit. April and her brother do all they can to help their grieving mother and, by tending her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables.

Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is facing the fact that her husband may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and April's supply of home-grown vegetables couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Apple of her Eye: The tragedy of war unites two London families

  • 'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' - Our Time

  • 'A touching novel' - Daily Express

  • 'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' - Bolton News

  • 'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' - Lancashire Evening Post

  • 'This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely' - North Wales Chronicle

Read More Read Less

Pamela Evans

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay