Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...

Pamela Evans

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas

The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war in Pam Evans' new family saga. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray.

It is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.

As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...

Read More Read Less

Praise for When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...

  • A touching novel - Daily Express

  • Very readable - Bella

  • A special kind of warmth with all the right ingredients - Lancashire Evening Post

  • History and Romance. A touching saga - My Weekly

Read More Read Less

Pamela Evans

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay