Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Bluebird Girls: The Bluebird Girls 1

Rosie Archer

2 Reviews

Rated 0

The Forces' Sweethearts, Sagas

Heartwarming Second World War saga for fans of Elaine Everest and Daisy Styles

The most heartwarming new wartime series of 2019.

Hampshire, 1939, and three young women are about to get the break of a lifetime.

Rainey Bird, Ivy Sparrow and Bea Herron all love to sing. For Rainey, music has been a solace during the upheaval of starting a new life with her mother, away from her abusive dad. Bea finds a confidence when she sings that she cannot get from anything else. Ivy sees it as her best chance of making a life away from Gosport and a dead-end job.

The three of them sing in a choir run by the strict but kind Mrs Wilkes. The choir provides a couple of hours of stardust each week, away from school and work and family worries.

When war breaks out, though, dreams must be put on hold. It seems that local pantomimes and charity shows are as far as the girls will be able to go, despite Mrs Wilkes's faith in their talent. That is, until a mysterious stranger arrives with a proposition that just might change their lives...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Bluebird Girls: The Bluebird Girls 1

  • Love, friendship, passion, drama and a cast of vibrant, authentic characters make this an exciting and enthralling read for all lovers of adventure, nostalgia and romance - Lancashire Evening Post on The Ferry Girls

  • A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal - Lanchashire Evening Post on The Factory Girls

Read More Read Less

Rosie Archer

Rosie Archer was born in Gosport, Hampshire, where she still lives. She has had a variety of jobs including waitress, fruit picker, barmaid, shop assistant and market trader selling second-hand books. Rosie is the author of The Munitions Girls, The Canary Girls, The Factory Girls and The Gunpowder and Glory Girls as well as a series of gangster sagas under the name June Hampson.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay