Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Girls from the Local

Rosie Archer

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical romance, Sagas

Gosport, Hampshre, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids. A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.

Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.

The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.

Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.

The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Girls from the Local

  • A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal - Lancashire Evening Post on The Canary Girls

  • A nostalgic story packed with drama, tension, passion and the grim realities of life in wartime England - Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory Girls

Read More Read Less