Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Audio
  • Piatkus

A Woman Unknown: Book 4 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

Frances Brody

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

The fourth fantastically quirky crime novel featuring amateur sleuth extraordinaire Kate Shackleton

The Woman Unknown: Deirdre Fitzpatrick is married to a man who wants to know where she really goes when supposedly taking care of her sick mother and calls on the expertise of Kate Shackleton, amateur sleuth extraordinaire to investigate.

The Gentleman: Everett Runcie is a banker facing ruin and disgrace. His American heiress wife will no longer pay for his mistakes, or tolerate his infidelity, and is seeking a divorce.

The Murder: When a chambermaid enters Runcie's hotel room, she is shocked to find that he is alone - and dead! Suddenly Kate is thrown into the depths of an altogether more sinister investigation. Can she uncover the truth of her most complex, and personal, case to date?

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Woman Unknown: Book 4 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries

  • Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine - Ann Granger

  • Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives matured by their wartime experiences. They make excellent heroines - Literary Review

  • The writing . . . is exceptional and I cannot wait to read the next book in the series - Mystery Women

  • Neatly plotted . . . a classic Golden Age whodunnit - The Independent on Sunday

  • [An] engaging and resourceful 1920s heroine; a deftly constructed, intriguing period piece - Good Book Guide

  • It is rare to find an author that brings character so much to life that they become like real friends but Frances Brody is certainly such one . . . her Kate Shackleton books are so entertaining, well-constructed, and well written that, when finished, the reader feels bereft; but there is always anticipation for the next one - Ryedale Gazette & Herald

  • Fabulous . . . Such details as cloche hats, Yorkshire pudding, and 'grand country houses' provide period flavor, while more serious historical matters, such as cultural attitudes toward divorce and adultery, prove germane to the plot. Snappy dialogue and a cast of well-developed minor characters are a plus - Publishers Weekly

  • Brody's spirited and stalwart protagonist has found her true calling in solving mysteries, and her fourth case (after Murder in the Afternoon) holds true. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie will enjoy these historical mysteries set in 1920s England - American Library Journal

Read More Read Less

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of twelve Kate Shackleton mysteries and three historical novels. Frances began her writing career in radio and has also written for theatre and television. Her novel Sisters on Bread Street won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was shortlisted for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University.

Visit Frances Brody online at www.francesbrody.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay