Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Eternal

The Hostage Bride: Bride Book 1

Jane Feather

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance

HEADLINE ETERNAL: Find your heart's desire...

Bestselling author Jane Feather sets her Brides trilogy against the turmoil of the English Civil War, and tells the tales of three unconventional young women who vow they will never marry - only to be overtaken by destiny. Fans of Stephanie Laurens, Julia Quinn and Liz Carlyle will be delighted with these daring brides.

Bride #1 is the outspoken Portia....
It's bad enough that seventeen-year-old Portia Worth is taken in by her uncle, the marquis of Granville, after her father dies. As the bastard niece, Portia knows she can expect little beyond a roof over her head and a place at the table.
But it truly adds insult to injury when the Granvilles' archenemy, the outlaw Rufus Decatur, hatches a scheme to abduct the marquis's daughter - only to kidnap Portia by accident. Portia, who possesses more than a streak of independence as well as a talent for resistance, does not take kindly to being abducted - mistakenly or otherwise.
Decatur will soon find himself facing the challenge of his life, both on the battlefield and in the bedroom, as he contends with this misfit of a girl who has the audacity to believe herself the equal of any man...

Look for Phoebe's story next in The Accidental Bride.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Hostage Bride: Bride Book 1

  • Feather gives an overview of Covent Garden, bordellos, pickpockets, Cyprians and the sights and smells of the place along with the aristocratic and not so aristocratic side of bawdy Georgian England in this nicely crafted start to The Blackwater Brides trilogy. - RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

  • The second of Jane Feather's Bride Trilogy is notable for another memorable heroine. Phoebe...is a messy delight - The Romance Reader

  • Jane Feather is an accomplished storyteller....The result - a rare and wonderful battle-of-the-sexes story that will delight both historical and Regency readers - Daily News of Los Angeles

  • Feather's writing style is spirited and her plot is well-paced - Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Jane Feather

Jane Feather is the New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty sensual historical romances. She was born in Cairo, Egypt, and grew up in the south of England, and she has more than 10 million copies of her books in print.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay