Your cart


Total AUD



  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Other Woman: An addictive psychological thriller you won't be able to put down

Laura Wilson

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Thriller / suspense

She has it all. How far would she go to keep it? A breathtakingly tense thriller from the author of THE WRONG GIRL, about one woman's determination to defend what's hers - and how quickly a straightforward plan can spiral out of control. Perfect for fans of Katerina Diamond's The Secret and Fiona Barton's The Widow.

'Brilliant twisty dark farce' ERIN KELLY

'A nail bitingly tense and original book' SHARON BOLTON

'Compulsive, horrifying and irresistibly funny' VAL MCDERMID

Shortly after Christmas, a message arrives at Sophie's house, scrawled across her own round robin newsletter: HE'S GOING TO LEAVE YOU. LET'S SEE HOW SMUG YOU ARE THEN, YOU STUPID BITCH. Perhaps she should ignore it, but she ignored the last one. And the one before that. Now it's time to take action.

But when a simple plan to identify and confront the other woman goes drastically and violently wrong, Sophie must go to extreme lengths to keep her life and her family together - while never letting on her devastating secret.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Other Woman: An addictive psychological thriller you won't be able to put down

  • A really beautifully written and atmospheric family drama-cum-psychological thriller here from Laura Wilson - a highly addictive and often haunting read that is utterly gripping - Liz Loves Books

  • Perfectly in tune with current tastes - Financial Times

  • A slow-burn story with brilliant characters built up layer by layer and a plot that comes ingeniously together. A great read - The Bookbag

  • One of our most original and sensitive crime writers - Daily Express

  • Wilson shakes and stirs the ingredients into a beautifully written, gripping and haunting mystery novel - Literary Review

  • Wilson has always been an acute observer of dysfunctional families, and she writes extremely well - Book Oxygen

  • Everything that makes for gripping drama. Solid characterisation, emotional depth, a claustrophobic feeling of impending maleficence . . . and a cracking good mystery at its dark heart . . . my best book of 2015 by a mile - Crimesquad

Read More Read Less

Laura Wilson

Laura Wilson was brought up in London and has degrees in English Literature from Somerville College, Oxford and UCL, London. She has worked briefly and ingloriously as a teacher, and more successfully as an editor of non-fiction books. She has written history books for children and is interested in history, particularly of the recent past, painting and sculpture, uninhabited buildings, underground structures, cemeteries and time capsules.

Her first novel A LITTLE DEATH was shortlisted for both the CWA Ellis Peters and the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original. A THOUSAND LIES was shortlisted for the 2006 Duncan Lawrie Dagger. THE LOVER won the 2004 Prix du Polar Europeen for Best Crime Novel of the Year In Translation and was also shortlisted for the 2004 Gold Dagger and the Ellis Peters Award. In 2008, she won the Ellis Peters Award with her novel STRATTON'S WAR. She lives in Islington.