Your cart


Total AUD


It was an honour for us to read so many wonderful submissions and it is always difficult to narrow the entries down, knowing the time, effort and creativity that has gone into each work.  However, the shortlisted writers all sparked our attention and would not be denied. It is a remarkable shortlist and the compelling voices, the powerful ideas and the excellence of the writing thrilled us all. Every work illuminates an exciting talent and demonstrates the quality and depth of contemporary Australian writing. To have five very different works by five extremely talented writers on this shortlist is the perfect way to honour the memory of Matt Richell, a man with an eclectic reading taste with one common thread – the quality of the writer.

The shortlisted writers are: in alphabetical order by surname:

Mandy Beaumont, for She is Bright Light and All Brilliance, an emotionally powerful and uncompromising short story collection exploring the ideas of femininity from a writer who has already won many short story and poetry awards and whose talent is undeniable.

Zoe Ghani, Pomegranate & Fig, a touching and beautifully told novel about war, displacement, and family inspired by the experiences of those close to the author.

Ruth McIver, I Shot the Devil,  a dark and unforgettable literary noir that was hard to put down.

Fiona Murphy, The Shape of Sound, a very personal and honest memoir about a silent secret, shedding fear and gaining disability pride that gives an insight into an exceptional situation.

Fiona Robertson, Tempest and Other Stories, a masterful and moving collection of short stories focused on acceptance, forgiveness, and hope from another award-winning writer.

It was an incredibly strong shortlist, but the judges were all united in their praise of Richell Prize 2018 winner, Ruth McIver’s I SHOT THE DEVIL.  Set in a fictional town in Long Island, New York, the story has two narrative threads: one taking place in 1994, the other in 2010. The novel draws on the traditions of memoir and true crime writers to create a dark and unforgettable literary noir that shows an emerging writer of considerable literary talent. Atmospheric and chillingly entertaining, this was a novel that every single judge wanted to read more of.

Related news


Sally Abbott - 2016 Richell Prize Speech

Sally Abbott, inaugural winner of The Richell Prize for Emerging Writers, opened the 2016 Richell Prize with this uplifting speech.


Entries Now Open for the 2021 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family, is honoured to launch the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2021, in partnership with the Emerging Writers’ Festival.


Hachette Australia and Emerging Writers’ Festival present Inside the Publishing House

Hachette Australia is teaming up with the Emerging Writers’ Festival for a special one-day online experience on 12 March 2021 to demystify the inner workings of one of Australia’s biggest trade publishing houses.


Richell Prize for Emerging Writers 2020 Winner Announced

Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family, is thrilled to announce that Aisling Smith, author of Petrichor, has been awarded the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2020.


The Richell Prize 2018 Shortlist

Hachette Australia, the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) and our media partner Guardian Australia are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the 2018 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay